Professional Learning Series Sparks New Online Cyber Educators Community

Professional Learning Series Sparks New Online Cyber Educators Community

The first ever Australian Cyber Teacher Professional Learning Series has concluded with the final event at Immanuel College in Adelaide on August 4. During the two-week series, which was attended by hundreds of Australian educators, teachers learned how to start integrating cyber science concepts in the classroom. One of the major outcomes of the series is the concept to start a new Cyber Educators Community online for educators to share strategies and resources about integrating the field into learning.

The sessions were led by Steve Morrill, Director of Cyber Science & Technology at Loyola Blakefield, an independent high school in Towson, Maryland. Steve presented to teachers and students across the country in workshops, conferences and online for the DigiTech Hub about the Cyber Science program he started at Loyola Blakefield.

During the presentations, Steve’s current and former cyber science students participated via Google Hangouts to share their passions and interest areas within computer science. Teachers who participated in the sessions were also introduced to the Optus Cyber Security Experience and the Cyber Teacher programs, two free resources via the Day of STEM platform in Australia.

Check the links below to access a range of resources…

Teachers and organisations interested in learning more about the Cyber Educators Community should contact Renee Hoareau, Director-Education & Engagement, via email at Thank you to everyone involved in making the series a success.

2017 Australian Cyber Teacher Professional Learning Series Participants:

  • Australian Council for Computers in Education
  • Australian Signals Directorate
  • Cairns School of Distance Education
  • Dandenong High School
  • Deakin University
  • Digital Learning and Teaching Victoria
  • Digital Technologies Hub
  • Edith Cowan University
  • Educational Computing Association of WA
  • EdTech SA
  • Frankston and Mornington Peninsula Learning Employment Network
  • ICT Education New South Wales
  • Immanuel College
  • Information Technology Educators ACT
  • La Trobe University
  • Loyola Blakefield
  • Macquarie University
  • Mathematics Association of Western Australia
  • Overnewton Anglican School
  • Quantum Victoria
  • Queensland Society for Information Technology in Education
  • Science Teachers Association of Victoria
  • Science Teachers Association of WA
  • South Australian DECD
  • St Margaret’s & Berwick Grammar School
  • University of Technology, Sydney